Bullying

I don’t know what to do and am looking for advice…

In the beginning of the dance season, Caroline’s dance teacher told me another girl was picking on Caroline. Caroline had not mentioned it to me at that point and the dance teacher said that Caroline never acted like it bothered her. The dance teacher said she would take the little girl and put her away from the other students. She also said that Caroline never instigated any of the comments and Caroline never retaliated.

At one point in December, when I picked her up, Caroline told me, “xxxxxx said bad words to me!” I asked her what bad words and she said she couldn’t remember. I asked her if she bad words back to xxxxxx and she said she did not. I the praised her and told her that she was a good girl for not saying bad things back. And gave her a big hug! The dance teacher said xxxxxx picked on caroline but caroline didn’t say anything back and just did what she was supposed and xxxxxx was put in time out and not given a lollipop.

Since then, I have seen the dance teacher talking to xxxxxx mom after class. Some days it is she had an ok day. Most the time it is: we have to figure something out!

This past Tuesday, I get a report from the girls since I am still recovering…

Xxxxxx pushed Caroline! My husband reported xxxxxx was screaming and kicking in the corner of the room during pick up.

I asked Caroline what happened. She told me that xxxxxx came up and pushed her. That she called for the dance teacher, who said “no, no, no!” Then picked up xxxxxx and put her in the corner and xxxxxx did not get a lollipop.

My husband emailed the dance teacher and asked if Caroline was in any way responsible. We were told that Caroline was not doing anything wrong and that the situation should be handled by the following day.

It hurts to hear that my child is being hurt by words and physically now by someone else. She doesn’t act like it really bothers her, but how can it not? I don’t know what to do other reassure her that it’s not her, we don’t use words or push back, etc. I have not confronted mom since the dance teacher has already.

20140319-122332.jpg

4 thoughts on “Bullying

  1. If it were me, I would take Caroline with me and talk directly to the little girl myself. I would make the little girl apologize and explain why it hurts feelings, etc. I would probably also say that when you’re mean to people, no one will want to be your friend. This probably sounds harsh, but I have had to sit our neighbor girl down and have a teachable moment when she is being mean to Ella. Time out and taking away the lollipop isn’t working. But maybe explaining it calmly with Caroline there would help. HUGS. I saw a little boy push down Ella once and it took everything in me not to kick that little shit…pardon my language.

    1. I am a little concerned something is going on in her home. She has a broken wrist and the story was her brother stomped on her arm and broke it…

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a comment